Grief – Thank you Kuya Jec

Death can come without warning. Sometimes it can come with the biggest warning sign but we opt not to see it – DENIAL. When I received the news of Kuya Jec’s death Monday morning, I was in denial. I had to call somebody else for confirmation. I called AC and got the confirmation, wala na si Kuya Jec. It was a sudden death – who could have ever imagine that as young, pro-active, dedicated and such a giving leader can die so early?

For about 12 years ago, I met Kuya Jec in the Parish of OLPH. Those were during my adolescent years, like most of you Kuya Jec also became a mentor. He showed how to be a leader of a small group of people and also of a big group. He showed that no matter how big or small these groups are, there will always be an equal opportunity for everyone to be his friend. I just know that most if not all of you young people (Legion, JAM/Youth, SK) had your fair chance to open up something to Kuya Jec and he’d always had the answers or pieces of advice to give. That’s what I will always remember about Kuya Jec – his openness to all his friends. Once you have entered that circle of friendship, he will do everything that he can to help. That’s what I want to all of you to remember – those fun memories, nuggets of advice, those jokes, and those sermons probably. Because that was Kuya Jec was made for.

Pre-adolescent to adolescent stage of life are very important in to one’s personality when he reaches young adulthood – and again MOST if not all of us have met Kuya Jec during these stages of our life. Kuya Jec loves being with the youth – the drive and the power of the youth is very promising. The youth has the greater capabilities to make a better change. Kuya Jec will always be part of the youth. And I must be proud to say, that I wouldn’t be who I am today if not for Kuya Jec. To all of you whom Kuya Jec has made an impact – let me tell you this: Do not lose that spark, do not lose that vibe of being young to be able to make a difference to yourself, to your family and to your community.

“Memory is a way of holding onto the things you love, the things you are, the things you never want to lose. ”

I will never forget that day when Kuya Jec had to climb and jump a wall with broken glasses at the top just because we were trying to rescue a friend. Kuya Jec – I am not afraid to cry and to all of you let’s not be afraid to grieve – because grief is the price that we can pay for love. And let us not remember Kuya Jec how or why he died but how he lived his life.

About Mark Guayco

BSN, RN, CEN - A Nurse, a husband, a father, a son and a brother. Born and raised from Quezon City, Philippines and now living on the island of Guam, USA View all posts by Mark Guayco

Leave a comment